Only One God

This is what God declared to Moses: I am the Lord thy God, I am but one only God; thou shall honor no other Gods besides me.

That God is only one denotes that in Him there is only one will. He wills nothing but good as confirmed by the scriptures when they testify that God is love. He is an eternal will towards all goodness and kindness. His will towards all goodness finds its uttermost expression in the Son and the vast number of daughters and sons who come to Him through the Son. But, since God is only one there is only one son, and this son perpetually manifests God’s grace and mercy. Honor yourself as that son. Honor no wills save God’s will towards all goodness. Honor the image of the Son in yourself which in all things delights and pleases God. In all things God tempts you towards Himself seeing Him working forth His eternal purposes of goodness in you as you. There is also a temptation downwards to seeing only yourself in separation missing the mark as if your works, willing and desires are outside of Him. In the midst of these pulls faith is offered as most redolent gift of pure gold. Receive it, take it, God insists. Become like the eagle, spread your wings and be lifted above deceit, lies and illusions by the warm winds of love, faith and acceptance.

This entry was posted in Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Only One God

  1. You are a poet. Yours reminds me of a verse I read this morning, Psalm 33:5: “The earth is full of the steadfast love of the Lord” (RSV). I thought, “But look at all the chaos and evil, and besides, didn’t Norman say that we’re in Satan’s camp, and he has a right to shoot at us.” Yes, this is true, but that has to mean that all of the chaos and evil is to be seen as in Psa 139, “If I make my bed in hell, thou art there.” Really, the truh is that the earth is full of the steadfast love of the Lord.” To let appearances to the contrary dictate our seeing is to make God a liar.

  2. Your repentance is showing up in lovely form. I had to get brain dead to find the portal myself. I think it’s normal. 🙂

Leave a comment