The Gospel in a Nutshell

Jesus said: Learn from me for my burden is light and my yoke is easy. The first years when I read this verse in Matthew I was convinced that Jesus meant I was to copy His works. I was quite unsure, though, what He meant by saying His burden was light and His yoke easy, because it didn’t seem that way to me there I toiled and sweated and failed. However, as I have matured I have come to know that this verse doesn’t refer to performance. It refers to life. Repeatedly Jesus made statements like this:

  • I don’t do anything of myself
  • I only do what I see what my Father is doing
  • I only speak what I hear from the Father
  • The works that I do, they’re not my works, they’re the Father’s works who dwells in me
  • There is only one who is good and that is God

This is the secret to Jesus’ life and it is the secret to our lives. To enter this reality of abundance is to enter the gate which leads to rest.

John wrote: “Whoever confesses that Jesus is the Son of God, God abides in Him, and he in God.” Most of us spend a great many years in the reality before the first comma. The deception from the Garden of Eden prevents us from entering the reality to which the rest of this verse pertains. Jesus lived in “God abides in me, and I in Him”. Therefore He could say those things He said about Himself and do the works He did. As an example of redeemed man He showed us that we are created to enjoy this quality of life as well.

Jesus prayed to His Father in John 17 that He may be in us. Paul affirms that this prayer is answered when he writes about the mystery revealed, Christ in you. Your confession too shows that Jesus request has come to pass. He lives in you! Hence everything Jesus said about His relation to His Father is true about you.

  • We can do nothing of ourselves
  • We only do what we see our Father is doing
  • We only speak what we hear from our Father
  • The works we do, they’re the Father’s work who dwells in us
  • God is good

The author of the epistle to the Hebrews more than once told the congregation to move from dead works to faith. Dead works is the flesh attempting to please God by its efforts and performance. It says: I have to do it. Faith says: I enjoy the same oneness with God as Jesus did and hence God is the doer. The first approach is death. The second is abundance of life.

To enter this amazing reality by faith hinges on one thing; we must recon ourselves as dead. We must know that we are dead. Christ died for us and we died together with Him and when we did our sins were forever forgiven. We are raised with Him to newness of life. The Christian life isn’t improving the old man. It is a wholly new life. Everything is new. We were born again from above when we accepted Christ and from that instant we are in a union with God whether we know it or not.

The reason why the author of the epistle to the Hebrews was so empathic about us moving from dead works to faith is that Christ is hindered from being formed in us when we attempt to live the Christian life. Paul said that if we try to live by the law we are fallen out of grace. It doesn’t mean that the union is broken. It means that Christ is impeded from expressing His life in, through and as us. Who wants to live an inferior life when there exists a glorious liberating alternative?

Have you often wondered if you live for God? Paul has an answer to your question. He wrote to the Romans: “For the death that He died, He died to sin, once for all; but the life that He lives, He lives to God.” Jesus is inside you wanting to live His life through you. The day you discovered that you cannot live the Christian life you transferred the government to Him, and He lives for God. Since He lives for God, you live for God. This is the simplicity of the gospel.

The old man was his own point of reference. Everything was judged from this perspective. When we are born again one of the things we have to learn is that we no longer are the point of reference. Christ is the point of reference. Everything He is, we are. That is the gospel in a nutshell!

This entry was posted in Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to The Gospel in a Nutshell

  1. What an exquisite post!!! Brian

  2. Garry says:

    When I read your articles it becomes more and more evident that scripture by itself is the letter, but the truth and life of it are spiritual. More amazing, is this life is available and you are a living epistle of it. You are a blessed man Ole and a blessing to many.

    • Ole Henrik says:

      Thanks Garry for such a touching and wonderful comment. “becomes more and more evident that scripture by itself is the letter, but the truth and life of it are spiritual.” Amen, my friend!

  3. Kristin says:

    Ok, question. How do you tell the difference between good intentions of the flesh and the leading of the spirit? Because I am in the flesh a fixer. I have in the past believed that God was leading me to fix other people’s lives. That in kindness and goodness I would go out and flesh out help and advice and I now know and see that was not and is not my job but I still wonder how I am to know the difference between what feels good to my flesh out of it’s old habits and what is God’s leading? Because the inclinations of my flesh do not always “look” bad. Does that make sense to you? How can I tell the difference between me living as me and God living as me? I don’t want to just rubber stamp everything I do as from God because in my experience it has not been, it has been me doing “it” whatever the “it” was for the moment.

    • Ole Henrik says:

      Dear Kristin! First off, how do you know that is is your flesh that wants to fix people. God has taken completely possession of us so He even uses our flesh to settle us further in Himself. Perhaps you have a special gift in that area? It just needs some refining as it is with all of His gifts. For me is the most important difference between flesh and rest that flesh efforts always are initiated by outer laws, and sense of “I have to, I must, I ought to” and it always evokes condemnation when we feel that we cannot meet the standard we or someone else have set up for us. There is no condemnation in rest and we enter rest by faith. By faith I am who I am, a perfect expression of Christ. By faith I am Him in my form. My greatest leap of faith was when I ceased to see duality, that some of my life was me (the bad stuff) and some of what I did was Him (the good stuff). Everything is Him. Flesh is simply something in our mind which says that God is over there somewhere and I am here. Duality. We are one with Him despite any appearance. That’s rest! Hope this brief account answered some of your questions. Blessings to you my friend!

      • Kristin says:

        Thanks Ole. Yes, in the past it has been out of duty and shoulds and oughts, and it drove people away, because it was me not Him. And it felt forced and I felt drained. I knew after the fact, that I was wrong headed. I have learned to ignore the duty to fix things..compassion is what I feel now and what He seems to do a lot through me. And He has shown me the goal for me is not to fix but to come alongside and love and support…but only HE can fix whatever the situation is and I have freedom in that.
        It is either complete possession or no possession at all. I have either died to sin or I have not. My brain just does not get it all yet…it will…so I will keep asking questions!!!! till it catches up!
        Hope you had a good birthday.

  4. Barbara Hughes says:

    Have you often wondered if you live for God? Paul has an answer to your question. He wrote to the Romans: “For the death that He died, He died to sin, once for all; but the life that He lives, He lives to God.” Jesus is inside you wanting to live His life through you. The day you discovered that you cannot live the Christian life you transferred the government to Him, and He lives for God. Since He lives for God, you live for God. This is the simplicity of the gospel.

    Freakin Wow!!!!!!

  5. Wonderful here, brother… as well as the comments and questions. Wonderful it is in seeing how much He uses everything… the good, bad and ugly of our old selves… and uses it for good, for His good purposes in us.

  6. Dan Powers says:

    Ole, thanks for another wonderful sharing from your Christ indwelt safe self. So glad He has gifted you this way. This is good strong heady wine that lingers and changes us as spirit witnesses to spirt, and thanks to Kristen for the excellent questions!

  7. Kristin says:

    This answer to my question above hit the mark for me, “For me is the most important difference between flesh and rest that flesh efforts always are initiated by outer laws, and sense of “I have to, I must, I ought to” and it always evokes condemnation when we feel that we cannot meet the standard we or someone else have set up for us.” Your answer reminded me of a counselors words to me long ago….”God does not motivate through guilt.” That is one big difference in my life between the two leadings.

    I also really appreciated this statement, “Paul said that if we try to live by the law we are fallen out of grace. It doesn’t mean that the union is broken. It means that Christ is impeded from expressing His life in, through and as us.” I often get tied up in knots at phrases like….”fallen out of grace” so it helps to be reminded what that really means.

    Galatians 2:20 “It is no longer I who live but Christ lives in me. And the life that I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God who loved me and delivered Himself up for me.”

    2 Corinthians 5: 17 “Therefore, if any man is in Christ he IS a new creation. The old things have passed away (DIED) and new things have come.”

    Thanks for sharing what God shows you.

    Glad you had a good birthday.

  8. kim says:

    what a rest! Jesus He lives to God.
    I had tried to live for God until I met christ as us.
    praise God.
    From south korea

  9. Kristin says:

    It is exciting to read the comments and hear the peace of God at work in all our lives. Thanks Ole for not keeping it to yourself!!!

Leave a comment