We Live by Faith And Not by Sight

“For we live by faith and not by sight” (2 Cor 5:7).

Sight is the Greek word “eidos” (G1491) and has these meanings:

1) the external or outward appearance, form figure, shape

2) form, kind

“Eidos” stems from the following root word: “Eido” (G1492). It has these meanings:

1) to see

a) to perceive with the eyes

b) to perceive by any of the senses

c) to perceive, notice, discern, discover

d) to see

1) i.e. to turn the eyes, the mind, the attention to anything

2) to pay attention, observe

3) to see about something

a) i.e. to ascertain what must be done about it

4) to inspect, examine

5) to look at, behold

e) to experience any state or condition

f) to see i.e. have an interview with, to visit

2) to know

a) to know of anything

b) to know, i.e. get knowledge of, understand, perceive

1) of any fact

2) the force and meaning of something which has definite meaning

3) to know how, to be skilled in

c) to have regard for one, cherish, pay attention to (1Th. 5:12)

John wrote: «Those who believe have the witness in themselves.» In other words, faith is its own proof. Jesus said: “Blessed are those who have not seen, and yet have believed.”

Norman Grubb captures all this perfectly:

There is a witness of the Spirit, the Bible is plain on that. “He that believeth on the Son of God hath the witness in himself” was a key text in the early Methodist revivals, and is in the foreground of the teaching of most “Holiness” bodies, and the Pentecostals, and the Salvation Army. But I cannot say that it is given the place of importance in the Scriptures. Everything there is the one word—faith. Implicit in faith is that it brings its own witness; but that is secondary, and remarked on incidentally.

The obvious danger of regarding the witness as the necessary evidence of faith is that it brings us back once again to gauging faith by feelings. To make the witness the sign of faith is that same retrogression from simply seeing Him who is invisible by the nakedness of faith, which truly honours Him and His unchanging word, to needing some boost to faith, which is really believing in what we feel of Him, and not unconditionally in Him. The Scriptures do not speak of the witness as a sign, but merely as the inevitable outcome of living faith. When we believe, we have the witness, because faith is its own witness. Therefore the witness is not experienced by seeking it, but by occupation in believing, and believing is just constantly recognizing Christ within—by faith. And if we do not “feel” a witness? Well, keep on believing, even if we die without a witness. It is the old, old snare. Where can I find joy? Where peace? Where power? By seeking them, which really means seeking my feelings of joy, peace, power? No. By seeing Him—by faith. HE is the joy, peace, power, all. He is that whether we feel it or not. Keep occupied in affirming Him by faith, even though I feel as heavy as lead or as weak as water, or as disturbed as a windstorm. Keep believing Him in these conditions.

This entry was posted in Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to We Live by Faith And Not by Sight

  1. Matt Dickson says:

    The Lord has been teaching me to recognize the difference between faith that is of my own substance and real faith which is the person of Christ in me. He is that person that I must recognize while being in the midst of the storm. My false faith usually tries to pray away the storm, rather than to see Him in it. This past week I read the very words that you shared from Norman Grubb. Thank you so much for the witness!

    • Ole Henrik says:

      My dear friend, as you sure there is something as a false faith? It hit me a couple of days ago that the Bible never differentiates between true and false faith, only different levels of faith. Otherwise, the Bible only differentiates between faith and unbelief, but we live by the faith of God and are not in unbelief. I on my part refuse to say that there is something wrong with the faith that is operative in me. Have you read Yes I Am and Norman’s chapters on speaking the word of faith?

  2. Matt Dickson says:

    No, but I will read those chapters. I just know that what I used to call faith only worked about 6% of the time anyway. It was the kind of faith that seemed more about me trying to change my circumstances. I hear what you are saying and I think that I agree. Maybe the Lord is growing me up and it’s all been part of His process. Thanks for your input!

    • Ole Henrik says:

      Your expressed faith when you prayed for those things. Faith in God and faith in that He can. Norman said: “Even if it doesn’t happen, I say it has happened!”

  3. Claude says:

    Yes, the ultimate reality, Christ in me. Not that all else is a lie, it is inferior reality. The renewing of the mind to believe it, see it, experience it, live it. Thank you Father for who You MADE us!
    “Even if it doesn’t happen, I say it has happened!” Wow, this is good.
    Tx, have a blessed day!
    Claude

  4. Donald Konick says:

    I almost get tired of say this… but not quite… Once again, Ole… Awesome!!! I love you…🙂 will let you know how the trip went… I’ll tell you this… I’m home safe & Sound… by God’s grace!

    • Ole Henrik says:

      I am so glad and grateful you never get tired of saying encouraging stuff! Love you too, Donald🙂 Yes, please, send me a mail about the details! I knew you would make it home safe and sound🙂 God always has a way!

  5. Clint Freeman says:

    Great Ole! You should use this as your catch phrase on here, “But I think it right, as long as I am in this tabernacle, to stir you up by a reminder.” Plus say you came up with this phrase, cause you did, same Lord, different vessel is all😉

Leave a Reply

