Cycling Downhill

Cycling home from work I met a little boy, perhaps five years old, on his bike going downhill. He had a strained expression in his face, his eyes looked scared and very concentrated and the entire bike was unsteady and his body seemed stiff.

I thought about myself with which ease I handled my bike. Nothing strained about my cycling, save I could have been in a better shape. In contrast to him I have plenty of experience and am a seasoned cyclist.

Then lightning struck and the little boy became an example of me when the Spirit is teaching me a new thing like for instance speaking words of faith concerning things I would like to see happen. I am just as unsteady as that little boy often scared of making mistakes or falling off the “bike”.

But, the point is: The little boy was on the bike! He was “there”! He was doing it!

This entry was posted in Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Cycling Downhill

  1. And, I love that Jesus is the bike, the road, and the strength to pedal!🙂

  2. Lennart says:

    Awesome encouragement. Don’t be scared to fall. It gets easier after each fall! You will never learn to declare GOD’s purpose if you keep your mouth closed.

  3. Matt Dickson says:

    You say Lord I say Christ, I don’t believe in Peter Pan, Frankenstein or Superman. All I wanna do is bicycle bicycle bicycle. I want to ride my bicycle bicycle bicycle… Sorry I couldn’t resist. I have been listening to the Bicycle race song by Queen a lot lately. Seriously, I have been encouraged by the Lord through your Word. Thanks!

    • Ole Henrik says:

      You are funny, my friend🙂 It is bicycle season in this part of the world now. Thanks for encouraging me too with your comment! Have a blessed day!

  4. Donald Konick says:

    Another good spiritual example, isn’t it strange how Papa use things we like to do to teach us about life in the Spirit?

    • Ole Henrik says:

      Thanks Donald! Yes, it is strange. For instance, yesterday I penned down examples from the classroom and how some students approach math. The parallels to the life in the Spirit are striking. Guess I will publish it as a note by and by.

Leave a Reply

