When My Heart Becomes Hot

Today’s entry is a mail I received yesterday from my dear friend Roel Velema. It is directly related to the last two posts written by DeeDee Winter about our soul. Roel’s mail blessed me greatly and it is my hope it blesses you too. The mail is published with Roel’s permission.

Dear Ole Henrik:

It is so amazing to see the interaction of the new heart (soul life) with the new man, the new spirit.

The natural life is no enemy anymore. This morning I clearly saw this again in Psalm 5:

Give ear to my words, O LORD; consider my groaning.
Give attention to the sound of my cry, my King and my God, for to you do I pray
” (Ps. 5:1-2 ESV).

The Lord didn’t condemn David for his groaning and crying; it was an expression of prayer to release the life of the Lord.

In Psalm 39:3 we see what this groaning embraced:

My heart became hot within me. As I mused, the fire burned; then I spoke with my tongue”.

I should not be disturbed when my heart becomes hot and the fire burns and my tongue speaks. This speaking of the tongue is an expression of prayer. Life is always expressive and not flat and suppressed. Christ always expressed life along the lines of the fruit of the Spirit. He was that Life.

He is my King and my God:

Even the sparrow finds a home, and the swallow a nest for herself, where she may lay her young, at your altars, O Lord of hosts, my King and my God” (Ps. 84:3).

My King and my God refers to all the activities of the daily life, just as busy as the sparrow. This may lead to much crying, agony and hot expression. But I lay it all on the altar. The altar is always a type of the cross. It’s the sparrow that lays her young at the altar. So do I; I lay my agonies at the altar with prayer, but also what is most precious to me.

John would have prevented Him, saying, ‘I need to be baptized by you, and do you come to me?’”(Matt. 3:14 ESV).

Lord, do you want me to have part in Your baptism in the water of death? I need to do the dying!

No, says the Lord, it’s to fulfill all righteousness when I do the dying through you. That’s what the altar is about.

Roel

This entry was posted in Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to When My Heart Becomes Hot

  1. Matt Dickson says:

    It has been such a relief to know that self is not my enemy. So much ground has been occupied by Satan’s soldiers though. Most of my struggles have been my new man trying to do good rather than my old man doing bad. I know that I am sometimes very random, but I wonder if Samson’s riddle has something to do with the truth of Christ occupying us even though we are a cracked pot. “Out of the eater came something t eat; out of the strong came something sweet.” He found honey inside the dead carcass of a lion, and shared it with his parents. He didn’t tell his parents where it came from because it was from a “dead” carcass… Anyway, random thoughts.

    • Ole Henrik says:

      There is so much here, Matt, and I am still not sure how to give you a decent reply. Let me mull over your comment a couple of more days…..

      • Matt Dickson says:

        I have always struggled to communicate through writing, and it is a great weakness of mine. Often the Lord stirs something in my Spirit and I try to put it into words before it has become life. After re-reading my comment, I am not sure that I understand what I was even trying to say.

      • Ole Henrik says:

        I haven’t forgotten your comment, but I don’t think I can contribute much at present. I think you write clearly and to the point. However, sometimes we are share what is stirring in us too early before it has taken full shape in us.

  2. Matt Dickson says:

    So true! Thank you again for being such an encouragement to me on this journey to know Him.
    Blessings brother!

Leave a Reply

