Our Most Valuable Soul……part II

By DeeDee Winter

I awoke this morning thinking of our exchange on the soul. Until the Holy Spirit gets this part of us settled in its rightness, we can never fully “be about our Father’s business”, because every time a negative emotion hits us we will either ask what is wrong with us, taking condemnation, OR confess it as sin. Imagine confessing the LIFE OF CHRIST within ourselves as sin!!!

We were created to bear Him and bring life to our ‘world’. His way of bringing mankind out of slavery to Sin was to die on the Cross, rise again, ascend into heaven and then send us His Holy Spirit. He will be the same dynamic IN US of death and resurrection and in doing so, bring those whom He gives us into light and freedom!

But we MUST first get settled about the purity of our souls…purely expressing Him!

After the Lord said to me “You are not jealous of her, but for her; it is My jealousy in you for her to know Me as you do” I began to search the Scriptures for what there was about our souls, because I knew if God spoke that word to me that it would be backed up by His Scriptures. What I found so far surpassed what I had hoped for! I began with a word search and found Matt 16:26…”What does it profit a man if he gains the whole world and lose his own soul? Or what shall a man give in exchange for his soul?”

I was riveted and began to read back through that passage. The Spirit directed me as far as Matt 16:15. I will loosely paraphrase it all…

Matt 16:15 begins with Jesus asking His disciples “Who do you say that I am?” Peter replies that He is the Christ and Jesus tells him flesh and blood did not tell Peter this, but it was revealed by His Father in heaven and upon this rock (of revelation and faith) He shall build His church. Jesus continues…with these ‘rock principles’ in place He says (19) He will give us the keys to the kingdom…that whatsoever we bind on earth shall be bound in heaven, and whatsoever we loose on earth shall be loosed in heaven. This means that we have the power by our word to set folks free!

Jesus then says He must go to the Cross…to which Peter replies that he does not want Him to suffer (23) and Jesus calls him Satan! It is Satan that does not want the Cross…death to resurrection which is the very nature of God (giving Himself for others) and this truth will become part of every believer when we receive Christ Jesus as our Savior…which is receiving His LIFE! This LIFE is not just when we ‘go to heaven’ but also for every day we live on this earth in time and space. It is His nature, and now ours, to bear conflict in our soul and by our word, bring life to/in the object of our conflict…binding and loosing. “Present your bodies a living sacrifice…our reasonable service” as Ro 12:1 says.

Then comes the resounding climax (24 – 26) of this passage! “If any man will come after Me let him deny himself and take up his cross and follow Me.” This denying ourselves is to deny that we have ANY ability in ourselves apart from Him…NO independent self that is able to act on our own…nothing in our branch form apart from The Vine (Christ by the Holy Spirit) who IS our life! It is the clarion call to fully BE Who you are!

“For whosoever shall save his life shall lose it; and whosoever shall lose his life for My sake shall find it.” I used to think the emphasis of this passage was on lose and life…but no longer.

I see the emphasis to be totally on “his”…again speaking of the illusion of an independent life apart from Christ…an independent ability to sin or do good. Lose THAT illusion!

And now to the verse that wraps up this exchange. “For what is a man profited if he shall gain the whole world and lose his soul? Or what shall a man give in exchange for his soul?” Losing our soul…and ALL it is meant to be…is to be suspicious of our emotions and trying to get them under ‘control’. When we do not trust them, fear them or hate them we give up the ‘way’ the Holy Spirit is coming through us for those around us. It is Satan’s gospel that tells the Christian that his emotions are wrong and not to be trusted…and anyone telling us that is preaching Satan’s gospel!

It takes a ‘season’ for the Spirit to settle and train us in the right use of ourselves. We have been so used to fearing our anger, jealousy, hate love…yes, even love. Begin to say the truth about yourself…”Lord, here You are”. At first we will have to simply take these truths by faith, but ever so quietly the Holy Spirit will make them ours. Everything about me has been made right and God is living His life as me…for “In Him we live and move and have our being.” When we begin to see these truths about ourselves ALL of Scripture screams them at us. God will gradually expand our understanding to see that what we want is never for ourselves, but always for the other person’s highest good.

The last few words of these verses “…in exchange for our soul” are vital for us to comprehend. Most of the Christian world wants their souls to be flat-lined with no ups or downs…oh maybe the ups are OK, but God help them if there is anything negative! God MEANS for us to have a fully alive and extremely active soul. It is through the activity of our soul that God calls our attention to a person or situation we “bind and lose” as we saw in v.19. We move into FAITH!

As we stated earlier…God’s nature/being is always to give His life for the other. He did this before the foundation of the world when The Lamb was slain. God chose then to be for more than Himself. He chose to be for us and His creation. He will be nothing less/do nothing less than He did before we existed. He will always lay down His life and take it up again. This is His life and is to be our life in Christ. His final commandment to us was “Love as I have loved you.” (Jn 15:12).

It is imperative that these deep realities are settled in us and about us, in order that we can fully be about our Father’s business…in oneness/union with Christ redeeming those He brings to us.

This entry was posted in Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Our Most Valuable Soul……part II

  1. Nancy Thompson says:

    Thank you Dee Dee. I needed to see this. My world has shrunk; this Christmas was not a ‘happy’ time for me and I’ve been feeling completely useless about everything. Despite that, The Lord basically said to me, my life is yours and now your life is for others. He will do it and I see the clouds parting to possibilities for others. We are not meant to hide our light under a bushel but He will give us the push out in whatever endeavour He chooses for us to shine HIS/OUR light. Love, Nancy

  2. Nina says:

    I’ve enjoyed this conversation, though i do not yet understand everything that was shared. I would appreciate some clarity on one particular issue pls. What does binding and loosing mean in context of union? How does one set people free using these tools? Of course i know it is the Lord’s work to bring freedom, but what role does binding and loosing play?

    • Ole Henrik says:

      Dear Nina…

      Ole sent me your question about binding and loosing. It is simply what we ‘say’ about a person or situation. We either hold/bind them or free/loose them by our word…what we say about them and their situation. An example would be a friend with a drinking problem. I can say, “She is an alcoholic and that is all she will ever be” or I can say, “She is not an alcoholic…Christ is her life and He knows the way through for her”. The first holds her there…binds…and the second frees her to the Life within her and Him “causing her to walk in His ways”.

      We may have many more times that the evidence screams at us that what we said and are believing for her is rubbish. Never mind that. It is good practice and strengthens our word. As we come to know the still small voice within ourselves and ‘hear’ His voice we understand that our word is really agreeing with what He has spoken in our heart…by His voice and our desires, which are His also.

      Please feel free to dialogue further with me on this. It is my pleasure to do so.

      Love in Christ, our life…
      DeeDee

  3. Linda Keranen says:

    Just love these post between you and Dee Dee, have printed both and rereading as there is so much depth to reread!

    You two should more of this! Happy New Year!

    _____

  4. Donald Konick says:

    Ole, both of these posts are really awesome… Thank you & thanks to Dee Dee… I know she knows Ken Stewart who is the one who lead me to Jesus… so things are coming full circle, It all rests with the Secret of Life… “Even the mystery which hath been hid from ages and from generations, but now is made manifest to his saints: To whom God would make known what is the riches of the glory of this mystery among the Gentiles; which is Christ in you, the hope of glory:” ASV Colossians 1:26-27

    • Ole Henrik says:

      I don’t remember if I replied to your comment, Donald. I passed it on to DeeDee and she was so thrilled by it. She knows Ken well and she passed on your comment to him. Thanks again my friend!

  5. Hando says:

    Hello, Ole,Dee

    I find what you shared deeply meaningful, thank you.
    I do have one question regarding the self that Jesus asks us to deny. When Jesus was asked who he was, he answered “before Abraham was, I Am.” The same answer God gave Moses at the burning bush. If I were to ask you, “who are you?”, what would your answer be?

    Yours in Christ,
    Hando

    • Ole Henrik says:

      Thanks Hando! My reply would be: I am

      Blessings!

    • Ole Henrik says:

      I am. The only way we can say that about ourselves is if we are settled in NO INDEPENDENT life in us. Every person has a self…ego/I am. Jesus is saying “Realize that your self is not ‘yours’, but joined to Him/vine and expressing His I AM in our i am form. DeeDee

      • Hando says:

        Dear DeeDee

        This is the point I want to bring across. You bring a wonderful word but for me it is lacking in one area. If there is no I am apart from Jesus then why would I want to be saved if salvation is at the cost of self? If a person needs salvation but must sacrifice that unique self that is his alone in order to be saved, what is the point? All we will have is little cloned Jesus’s running around and you and I will be absent, a spiritual type of “attack of the body snatchers”.

        I would like to challenge you in one area and it is this; We have an idea of who and what we are that we think/confuse with who we are. In simpler language, there is the idea of self, also called the ego, and then there is that unique, God created, spiritual self that cannot be described, it simply is. Jesus calls/saves us from the ego, that believes it is separate from God and others, to our true self where we are deeply connected to God and others.

        This is what allows Paul to tell us in Rom. 7 that it is no longer he, Paul, that sins but the flesh. Paul realised that his true self is, like Jesus, incapable of sinning as his “I am” is as God breathed as Jesus’s is and is “very good” according to Genesis one. When he sins it is the flesh/ego trying to reassert control. In fact, that is the very definition of sin, living out of a false sense of self that sees itself as separate from. Paul therefore calls us to be renewed by the renewing of the mind because the ego is a construct of neural pathways rooted in the brain/mind and we have to bring the mind back into submission to the true self.

        Paul then goes on in Rom. 8 to say that those whom God had saved He will sanctify and then glorify. Why? So that Jesus may be the first born among many brethren. He is our older brother who calls us not to be Him but to become like Him in that we choose to live out of our own unique, God created I am deeply connected to God and others. So when we live and move and have our being (I am) in Him it means we embrace Him as the example, full revelation of who we are when we live out of a deeply connected true self.

        So for me, you are absolutely correct, before we can start doing we need to be anchored/centred in our true, God created self just like our big brother. We need to be willing to embrace the pain, despair, rejection, hopelessness that is so often the cross God sends us to free us from the ego, the false self that is separate, alone and vulnerable.

        I look forward to your response.
        Hando

      • Ole Henrik says:

        Hando, DeeDee’s next couple of days are packed. She hopes to come back to you as soon as she can.

  6. Chris Welch says:

    love these two…and the one with Nancy and the one -baptised into nothingness

  7. Mary Blair says:

    Thanks Dee Dee and Ole. Amen and Amen! loving you🙂

  8. patti musick says:

    I asked the Lord for encouragement today and as I sat and read this post and comments I saw the answer to my prayer! Hallelujah!

  9. Matt Dickson says:

    Some time ago, the Lord approached me through a messenger. He was a person who I had never seen before and who showed up at the church building where I was “working” as a pastor. It was the middle of the day and a strange man had come into the building. He was sitting in the hallway and had frightened our secretary. She buzzed my office and asked if I would check on him. After some time I was beginning to get frustrated because I could not find out from him how that I could help him. Finally, he said that he had been sent there to help me. When he prayed for me I felt an amazing presence from God. It was strange, because he was praying that I would take the narrow road that the Lord had set before me. Anyway, my life changed. All the things that I thought that I needed to be a successful pastor; husband and friend were taken from me. I lost all of my strength and went into darkness. If it wasn’t for an amazing peace the Lord gave me, I would have turned back. The revelation of Christ in me has been the most exciting journey. Although my former friends think that I am crazy, I am so blessed to share this anazing Love with my wife, kids and a small rag tag group of misfits.

    This dialog has been wonderful. It has verbalized things that the Spirit has been trying to reveal to me about the way that I see myself In Christ.

    Thank you Ole and DeeDee

    • Ole Henrik says:

      Wow Matt! Speechless! Wow! Both DeeDee and I are thrilled by your account. Thanks for sharing all this with us. DeeDee would like to contact you. May I have your mail address? You can forward it to lonekheir@gmail.com and I will pass it on to DeeDee.

  10. hando2012 says:

    I think that we are missing each other for a couple of reasons.

    I believe that the original sin was believing that we are defective, we made a mind shift that caused the separation. For me sin is not separation, separation is merely the fruit, sin is not believing God above my own understanding.
    I do not believe that God has or is ego as ego needs a physical mind to exist. God is absolute, no false identity while we have a concept, group of ideas in our minds that we think is who we are, this false self or ego is what we are called to die to.
    This is what Jesus died to on the cross, His ego. and through embracing his death I come to salvation/realisation that I am not who I thought I was but am whole because I was made whole. I simply am. That true self is intimately connected with God and all others. It is the I am that comes to the fore when I die to the ego in Christ. It is this false self or ego that Jesus saves Paul and me from in order for the true “I am” to emerge. It is this false self that sins, not the true “I am”.
    As you say, DeeDee, dead is dead and if we did not have a true self beyond the ego we would not be able to be aware that we are dead, we would, well, be dead.

    The truth is that we are not dead to the ego, merely dead to the consequence of of the ego. Dying to the false self is a process that will be consummated at our death, as it was for Jesus, so for us.

    Yours in Christ,
    Hando

Leave a Reply

