The Gift of Faith

Faith is the substance of the things hoped for. Sometimes it just is there like a hidden undercurrent carrying me on its wings without me giving it much attention. Even when I cannot believe its rivers flow ceaselessly. There are days when it feels like my faith is completely frayed and tattered – that it is only embers on the verge of dying out. Hopelessness overwhelms me and I just want to give up.

But, then, wonders of all wonders, from a Source that is greater than me those dying embers are gently blown into life again and the flame of faith is burning in my soul and those words which only a moment ago seemed void of life are now spoken with newfound boldness. Hope flares up in my inner man and I can’t help but wonder what God is up to. Dying and resurrection – the recurrent theme of this faith life in which we live by the faith of the Son who is eternally faithful to those given Him.

I cannot manufacture this faith. I cannot buy it for money. I cannot increase it by any effort on my part. It is a gift coming to me in the most surprising of circumstances – when the darkness is so thick that I wonder if I somehow took a wrong turn along the route. It is in the light of faith I see that this apparent wrong turn was designed by God for a purpose I perhaps yet do not see.

It was Job who exclaimed; “Nothing can thwart God’s plans.” Faith nods approvingly to such a statement, whereas my troubled soul wonders if I somehow have lost it. Faith says, “You shall decree a thing and it shall be established unto thee.” Surrounded by truths too grand for me to comprehend Christ is with a smiling countenance nudging me upwards to see with His eyes of faith the thing God is about to manifest.

Faith is recognizing what God is up to – what is already done in His economy of things. This faith that in the beginning was nothing more than a mustard seed is growing into a huge three in which birds (my consciousness) can rest, increasingly seeing God as the all in all to whom nothing is impossible, and whose answer comes by a way of which ye do not know. Faith is obedience, the kind of obedience that leaps reason and utters what came up in no man. Faith is returning to the simplicity of things trusting that God indeed presses His desires upon us, that He thinks His thoughts in us and that He loves exceedingly abundantly as us.

Mary received the word concerning the wonder that God by her would conceive, and she contemplated “these things” in her young heart. She would conceive the Christ, and in the likeness of this brave woman the Christ consciousness is born in every woman and man overshadowed by the Spirit, and we also ponder these things in our hearts, because faith speaks – sometimes in secrecy, at other times it lets its voice resound from the temple gate.

This entry was posted in Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Gift of Faith

  1. Sing says:

    “Faith is the substance of the things hoped for. Sometimes it just is there like a hidden undercurrent carrying me on its wings without me giving it much attention. Even when I cannot believe its rivers flow ceaselessly. ”
    Thank you for your words. It speaks to my heart. What you said just described what I have been feeling last 6 mths. I feel like a twig swept by the overwhelming river currents, propelling me forward. All is good and God is the God of details. As He works through every concern I have, I am reminded, all I need to do is just ti have faith and trust in my Father, my God.

  2. Marcus says:

    From Seattle Washington…thank you!

  3. Cheryl says:

    So great,Ole – Thanks muchly!

  4. That is so true, I can see this better now, the example of feeling in a dark place, hopeless, but then seemingly out of nowhere those ambers are lit again and the fire becomes so strong you can’t keep it inside. How can it be? This is a great writing on the subject, and something I need to remember next time I’m cast down His faith in me will pick me up and blow on my ambers, thanks Ole!!!

Leave a Reply

