Identify with Christ

“The full implication of Paul’s insistence that I am dead to the law is that this apparently independent I is an illusion, because that “I” comes under the law. Being dead to the law means there remains no independent I for the law to give commands to! The new I-Christ in me and as me-is the law; and thus in my union relationship “the righteousness of the law is fulfilled in me.” (Norman Grubb)

Nancy: SO there is the “law of the Spirit in us” which is how the Spirit-spirit union works. Roman 7 clearly says in verse 22: “For I delight in the law of God after the inward man.” Some still relate to themselves as an outer man operating in the turmoil of multiple laws which the same chapter goes on to express knowing the deliverance only is in Christ. Consequently there are these imperfections expressed with an identity in an “illusion of understanding” – the fall of humanity.

Ole Henrik: Nancy, do you mind elaborating on your last sentence?

Nancy: Well, look at all the laws that are operating here in Romans 7 (with the overriding LAW OF THE SPIRIT joined to us being the one we identify with!). BUT then look at verse 23 and we see other laws in operation: (1) But I see another law in my members, warring against the (2) law of my mind, and bringing me into captivity to (3) the law of sin which is in MY MEMBERS (Notice it’s the law of sin and death).

24 O wretched man that I am! Who shall deliver me from the body of “this death”? This death is a particular death working in us and is the fall of mankind that is co-crucified with Christ, IN us; AS us. 25. And here is the total deliverance ONLY by the faith OF Christ in us which we practice and participate in from the get-go. “I thank God through Jesus Christ our Lord. . . So then with the mind I myself serve the law of God; but with the flesh the law of sin.” MIND IS Spirit…we are spirit. AND FLESH here does not mean that flesh is bad. It is ONLY SINFUL flesh that is not good. God operates in us as whole persons… spirit, soul, and body (flesh!).

Ole Henrik: This is thick stuff….”with the flesh I serve the law of sin”. It still isn’t clear to me what Paul means here.

Nancy: If you go back to the beginning of Chapter 7 you will clearly see Paul explains a change of marriages… and likens it to our death of one union to be joined in another union. Paul sees this change of union so clearly that he goes on then in chapter 7 to explain that the importance of the law is to prove to us when we are taking an identity AS INDEPENDENTS we should not even DESIRE for this is where the LAW KILLS us as an independent. But in our UNION-marriage we see Christ brings out the importance of FAITH, and that faith starts in DESIRE. In other words chapter 7 of Romans is saying identify with Christ, and leave your self alone not trying to get it shaped up. That’s the Spirit’s job in us and He does a fine work in us as we belong to Him.

This entry was posted in Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

