What is Mine

What is mine and what is God’s is a question we tend to pose. We try to put up some sort of distinction where there is none. The paradox is that everything is fully mine and at the same time fully God’s. We can in fact demand everything from Him and He can demand everything from us and when He does it is because He only demands Himself. Ask whatever you want and it shall be given to you, Jesus said. He was the One who saw no separation between Himself and His Father and further said, my meat is to do the will of the Father. Therefore He boldly proclaimed: “All I have is yours and all you have is mine.”

Everything is ours precisely because everything is His. He can lavish it upon us because it is His, and what He doesn’t want isn’t His, and thus not ours either. What does He give me? He gives Himself totally to me so that I in my nothingness becomes everything He is. To the degree that He becomes my self wherein there is no separation. He is mine. I am His. His will is mine and my will is His. My desires and wants are His desires and wants, and His desires and wants are mine. What He feels I feel and what I feel He feels. The whole question about what is mine and what is God’s boils down to mere foolishness.

Immersed in these paradoxes that are too big for us too grasp the huge theological issues become void and nothing. If I am a automaton is merely of no interest anymore. If He can do whatever He wills with me is of no importance anymore. If I can do whatever I will with Him that doesn’t matter to Him either, strictly because there is no separation – we are one. The only distinction is that I am the created and He the creator, but His love requires of Him to give Himself totally and unconditionally to me so that I live in His freedom where everything that is His is mine, and He becomes my I and I his I, but it is I.

This entry was posted in Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What is Mine

  1. Cindi Estep says:

    Romans 8:31-32 What then shall we say to these things? If God [is] for us, who [is] against us? He that spared not his own Son, but delivered him up for us all, how shall he not also with him freely give us all things?

    Sounds like ONE to me!!!!

Leave a Reply

