The Leper

And, behold, there came a leper and worshipped him, saying, Lord, if thou wilt, thou canst make me clean. And Jesus put forth his hand, and touched him, saying, I will; be thou clean. And immediately his leprosy was cleansed. (Matt 8:2-3)

I was that leper who approached Jesus and asked Him if He would make me clean. Jesus said: “I will”, and in that instant I was clean. Leprosy is caused by an alien invasion of the body. It is a bacterium which scars and deforms the person it has infected. For the leper to become clean Jesus had to expel every bacterium from His body. When Matthew recounts the incident he doesn’t say anything about Jesus removing the scars and deformations. Perhaps He did, perhaps He didn’t.

By that same token I was invaded by an alien force which Jesus in His great compassion drove out of me. It wasn’t a bacterium, but sin, also called the spirit of error, the devil, Satan, Beelzebub etc. In the instant he was out I was clean. Let me tell you something. I still have many of those same blind spots, weaknesses, irritating habits and addictions I had back then. How are we to reconcile this with our cleanness and hence union with God?

The whole secret lies in the fact that there was nothing wrong with my humanity. It never was. The problem was the infection which ravaged my humanity and made it a sick humanity. My weaknesses, oddities and addictions served unrighteousness before I was cleansed. The miracle, the mystery is that those exact same weaknesses now are members serving righteousness. Who can understand such a thing save the one who only feeds from the Tree of Life?

Every time I have to prove my cleanness I go showing myself to God and offer the gift of Christ. He is my testimony and witness that I am forever and ever cleansed from sin. “And Jesus saith unto him, See thou tell no man; but go thy way, shew thyself to the priest, and offer the gift that Moses commanded, for a testimony unto them (Matt 8:4).

This entry was posted in Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Leper

  1. Barbara Hughes says:

    The whole secret lies in the fact that there was nothing wrong with my humanity. It never was. The problem was the infection which ravaged my humanity and made it a sick humanity. My weaknesses, oddities and addictions served unrighteousness before I was cleansed. The miracle, the mystery is that those exact same weaknesses now are members serving righteousness. Who can understand such a thing save the one who only feed from the Tree of Life?

    Every time I have to prove my cleanness I go showing myself to God and offer the gift of Christ. He is my testimony and witness that I am forever and ever cleansed from sin. “And Jesus saith unto him, See thou tell no man; but go thy way, shew thyself to the priest, and offer the gift that Moses commanded, for a testimony unto them (Matt 8:4).
    Simply Brilliant Ole. Absolutely love it!! 🙂

  2. Ole Henrik says:

    So glad it blessed you 🙂

  3. Cindi Estep says:

    Squeaky Clean…..The infection is gone……No longer believing old lies about my humanity….left the grave clothes in the grave! Love you OLE!!

Leave a Reply

