Who is God?

It should seem quite obvious that whatever we believe about God will fashion what we think about being created in God’s image and likeness.

This is from the Westminster Larger Catechism:

Q. 7. What is God?
A. God is a Spirit, in and of himself infinite in being, glory, blessedness, and perfection, all-sufficient, eternal, unchangeable, incomprehensible, everywhere present, almighty, knowing all things, most wise, most holy, most just, most merciful and gracious, long-suffering, and abundant in goodness and truth.

While we find Biblical support for every of these concepts about God they are very abstract and conjure up an image of a distant God.

As a counterweight to this sterile definition of God  Paul rendered  to the Colossians a most startling revelation:  “For in him (Christ) the whole fullness of deity dwells bodily, and you have been filled in him, who is the head of all rule and authority.“ Through this Paul effectively has presented us with a personal God who dwells in every believer with His whole fullness. In other words nothing was left out when He moved in and took possession of His own highly beloved branch-vessels.

One of Jesus’ commissions was to present a more accurate picture of God while He walked this earth. He was the perfect image of God the Scriptures declare. He was hence the antidote to every abstract notion we carry in our minds about God. One thing we cannot say about Jesus is that He was distant. His life and mission bear witness about a God who through Christ brought Himself intimately close to life.

On this backdrop let us thus answer the question “What is God?” or better “Who is God?”

God is a person who loves to play, watch sports, read books, listen to music (He has a proclivity for metal), have parties and cookouts. He is very relational and loves to engage in conversations. He is very compassionate regarding His hobbies, notably carpentering. God loves humans to the degree that His desire is to dwell in them. He is not a great fan of religion, but prefers the freedom of the Spirit. Wherever there is a party you will find God. He celebrates victories. In His humbleness He bows down to wipe off tears from the cheeks of His beloved ones. He lives by faith and not sight. He prefers diversity to conformity. His great passion is to shower His beloved ones with gorgeous gifts. In addition to all this and more He is an incurable romantic.

This entry was posted in Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Who is God?

  1. Brian Coatney says:

    Hi Ole, this is fun. In 1995 I found myself drawn to the “Song of Solomon” and have read a few verses in it almost every day since then. The poem is the incredible romance and yet never defrauds. It lifts us up into a realm of purity and intensity not imaginable to the mind still alien to incarnation living. Many waters cannot quench love.

    • Ole Henrik says:

      Guess this humble dude has to begin reading a verse or two from Song of Solomon now and then. I know myself to well to declare that it will be every day, but who knows what can happen to a humble dude from Norway? Perhaps he will be hooked? This one is nominated to the sentence of the year award: “It lifts us up into a realm of purity and intensity not imaginable to the mind still alien to incarnation living. Many waters cannot quench love.”

  2. Richard says:

    Ole,

    A couple of your thoughts triggered this thought from the movie The Truman Show, “We accept the reality of the world with which we are presented.”

    Isn’t it a wonder in how the father is re-presenting his son to us, in us and through us!

    The sobering and awakening reality of his love at least for me is more and more convincing me that in my doings I’m simply expressing who (and whose) I really am, vs trying to become somebody I’m not.

    • Ole Henrik says:

      Wow, Richard! I love your last paragraph. It says it all! I have never seen The Truman Show, but it wouldn’t have helped the least because I am completely devoid of any talent towards remembering movie lines. Thanks for this sentence: “Isn’t it a wonder in how the father is re-presenting his son to us, in us and through us!” What an amazing wonder!!!

  3. Joy King says:

    That last line left me smiling a very special smile 🙂 Thanks Ole.

  4. Brian Coatney says:

    Hi Ole, adversity brought me to “The Song of Solomon.” My wife and I were separated from Oct 1991 until July 1998 except for a few months in the middle of 95. I spent a lot of time angry and depressed until 1994. Then the Lord kept drawing me to several books of scripture, including the Song. I found the most curious thing about the book. It fed the spiritual-erotic part of me in a delicate yet complete way. The Song did not make me pine, yearn, or want to act out inappropriately in any way. I’ve stayed with it even in the last 13 years because the Song feeds a core need even though our marriage was miraculous restored.

    • Ole Henrik says:

      I didn’t know you had gone through something like that, Brian. I am so glad that your marriage was restored. Thank God! I notice that all of us who have seen the union reality without exception almost literally have walked in the shadows of death where God miraculously has sustained us. I am grateful that you would share this part of your life with us. It is amazing how God used the Song to carry you and nourish you in the midst of adversary. Amazing how He works.

  5. Kat says:

    All, Life in us, for we are His children. He is Father! 🙂

  6. Colin says:

    He has a proclivity for metal – hehe Ole (in particular SUSPERIA ??)

    Great word Ole, straight from His heart, …er maybe yours, is is it both ? or maybe the both are One…Aaah !!

  7. Susan Avello says:

    Just beautiful, my friend.

  8. Tony says:

    I love the latter description of Who God is. Makes me want to know His presence even more.

    • Ole Henrik says:

      I was thrilled when I saw how the last paragraph came out. A God who manifest Himself in our everyday lives. Who would have imagined such a thing? I have ceased pursuing His presence since He somehow is me. However, I want to know Him better because then I get to know myself better.

Leave a Reply

