Some Brief Words on the Union Reality

Engaged in a heated discussion with some Jews Jesus gave the following testimony concerning their religious fervor:

Ye are of your father the devil, and the lusts of your father ye will do. He was a murderer from the beginning, and abode not in the truth, because there is no truth in him. When he speaketh a lie, he speaketh of his own: for he is a liar, and the father of it (John 8:44).

It is thus equally true that as born again persons we are of our Father, God the Almighty, and the desires of our Father we do. Our Father was a life-giver from the beginning, and abides in the truth, because He is only truth and cannot lie.

Norman Grubb observed: “We were marvelously created in God’s likeness to function spontaneously as expressers of Himself.”

The Jews here typify all religion which trademark is outer deference to rules, regulations and systems. These efforts to gain outer respectability make no man clean due to the spirit which indwells him. Whitewashed tombs were the expression Jesus used to illustrate their condition.

When we turned to our Savior drawn by His love we were cleansed and He took possession of us. However, that religious mindset is still a part of our make-up, as it were. Why? Because we have to learn by our failures that we never were meant to manage ourselves. We are always managed and operated by someone else whose desires we do. The law is vital in this process. It effectively exposes the delusion that we are self-operating selves.

When it has accomplished its mission we finally see that we are not bound by outer laws, but that the law is fulfilled in us and that we thus spontaneously express God’s law and His self-for-others nature. Condemnation is lifted off us and we recognize that our beautifully created humanity is the means by which God expresses Himself as us.

This entry was posted in Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Some Brief Words on the Union Reality

  1. Richard says:

    I love the reality that continues to burst upon my senses in the Father reactivating our spirit and even brought to a level of function beyond what Adam had in his original creation.

    • Vitus Spontaneus says:

      Good word, Richard…”reactivating, reality”..renewing, redeeming, reconciling !
      We are fortunate, like Paul, for though the original apostles knew Jesus in the flesh, Paul knew Jesus in the Spirit, and God shared so much revelation with him…as he does with us! There’s another one of those ‘re-‘ words again 🙂

  2. Ole Henrik says:

    I found you 🙂 Cool blog you have, btw 🙂

    • Vitus Spontaneus-Tim says:

      Well, this Neanderthal has yet to get a Facebook account…it’s a miracle I even have an email address! I guess I need to get one, huh. My testimony is on Brian Coatney’s blog, though if you want to check out the important stuff. Ole, I just bought 3 of your books, which I will be reading on my way to Africa next week.

      • Ole Henrik says:

        Concerning Facebook, it is only two years since I signed up. My wife had repeatedly suggested I joined the community, but I said: No way! But, I gave in by and by. It’s a marvelous grace community out there. I will certainly read your testimony, Tim! Thanks for purchasing my book! That is a tremendous encouragement!!!

  3. Richard says:

    Thanks Ole. I also have two other blogs, http://andthenlifehappened.blogspot.com/ and http://unfoldingmystery.blogspot.com/

    Also, I was wondering you being from Norway, have you by chance read the book “The Remarkable Replacement Army,” by Stan Firth, the book is tied into some factual actual events taking place in WW2 amongst the Norwegian resistance fighters. He has used these events to illustrate a prophetic word given to him.

    • Ole Henrik says:

      Ricard, I’ll check out your other two blogs. I am afraid I haven’t read that one. Guess, I will have to now. I have to admit that I am a reader and thus love books. Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

