Behold, You Are Beautiful!

Have you ever wanted to be a fly on the wall listening in to the conversations in the Triune fellowship concerning you? This wish doesn’t derive merely from curiosity. There is a desire in most of us to find out what God thinks about us personally and not solely know His blessed thoughts concerning humanity in general. Paul wrote to the saints in Rome: “Take tender care of one another with fondness and affection; esteem one another’s unique value.” (12:10 Mirror). One of the conversations in the Heavenly realm regarding you evidently centers on your unique value.

God much more prefers to speak His love and His admiration to you personally than to engage in conversations about you. In case the noise of this world should drown His voice so that you find it difficult to hear Him He has written a special love letter where He pours out His heart to you. This is what He says and He is addressing you: “Behold, you are beautiful, my love, behold, you are beautiful!” And “You have captivated my heart, my sister, my bride; you have captivated my heart with one glance of your eyes, with one jewel of your necklace.” (Songs of Solomon 4:1,9 ESV)

I don’t know about you, but when I read those words I am tempted to dismiss them as slightly exaggerated, that perhaps God had had too much wine when He uttered those words, that when He ultimately comes to know me as I truly am He will bitterly regret His imprudent pick of words, that it will dawn upon Him that they merely are based on a superficial knowledge about me. However, there is a passage in the Bible which seems to contradict and oppose my sentiments. Twice our father of faith, Abraham, found it prudent to lie concerning his wife, Sarah. At both occasions he told those he feared that she was his sister.

Now, if you are like me you would have anticipated that God would have rebuked Abraham for lying and for putting his wife in a most precarious position. If that is the case you are as dead wrong as I am. This is what God said to Abimelech king of Gerar: “Behold, you are a dead man because of the woman whom you have taken, for she is a man’s wife.” Yes, I know! This is crazy! God rebukes Abimelech, and Abraham, the perpetrator, goes free like…………you and I. In the aftermath of this shocking display of love towards one of us there is only one thing I can do and that is to join in with Paul when he praises our Father whose boundless love repeatedly confound our minds:

O the depth of the riches both of the wisdom and knowledge of God! How unsearchable are his judgments, and his ways past finding out! For who hath known the mind of the Lord? Or who hath been his counsellor? Or who hath first given to him, and it shall be recompensed unto him again? For of him, and through him, and to him, are all things: to whom be glory for ever. Amen. (Rom 11: 33-36)

This entry was posted in Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Behold, You Are Beautiful!

  1. Hi Ole, this is really fun. After my crash in 1993, I didn’t even have a Bible for a while. When I did open myself up to start reading it again, I just couldn’t take the book of Romans. I knew it is God’s word, but I had lived analytically so long, that God knew I needed a rest. A strange thing happened when God drew me to the word again. Beautiful promises from scripture started floating to mind, and I thought, “You gotta be kidding me: this is too easy.” Then, when I started reading again, only 4 books were on my diet for a good while: Psalms, Proverbs, Song of Solomon, and Revelation. The pictures and emotion in them sustained me for a long time. The Bible is a book about love. And during this time, I fell in love and have been ever since! Brian

    • Ole Henrik says:

      What an amazing testimony! Thanks for sharing. Those crashes seem inevitable if we are to discover the depth of God’s love. I have had one myself. I would have been a poor man without it. Much love to you, my brother!

  2. Bill Oberdorf says:

    Good word, Ollie…particularly to those struggling in an effort to gain their Father’s love and attention instead of simply just believing and receiving it!

  3. Bill Oberdorf says:

    Sorry I missed your name, Ole!

  4. Lennart Svensson says:

    Ole’ A lovely post. Can we ever understand Gods love for us? I doubt it!. It is too big, too forgiving, too lovely, too intimate, too proud of us, too……

Leave a Reply

