The Eternal Dance

Have you ever noticed that when we perceive God as a static God we become smaller? Not only do we become smaller, but God becomes smaller as well when we box Him in. The most disturbing fact, though, is perhaps that He becomes more distant and more impersonal when we attempt to understand Him by human reasoning and thus set fixed boundaries wherein we expect Him to move and deal with us. In this static realm of human understanding we become small because we think we are dealing with someone who is impossible to please and as a consequence it is almost impossible to imagine that He is a part of us. It is quite easy to become perturbed and disappointed when He doesn’t follow our predesigned patterns of conduct.

Something very peculiar occurs when we begin to move outside the box in our relation to God; when He becomes bigger and bigger and thus increasingly more difficult to get a hold of we become bigger and bigger as well. He sort of expands in our minds like the universe is expanding in the material realm. When we move into the realm of paradoxes where faith supersedes human reasoning He becomes more personal and our relation to Him improves considerably. The less I know about Him and His being the better I understand Him and the more I know about Him. Ostensibly a contradiction, but not in the kingdom of God. It is not unlikely that when we move from soul understanding to spirit understanding we somehow discover that we pulsate with the same frequency as Him. In this eternal dance in the spirit we move like one, quite undifferentiated.

Paul maintained that to know God and fathom His love goes beyond human reasoning and is a result of the Spirit’s supreme work in our inner man: “That he would grant you, according to the riches of his glory, to be strengthened with might by his Spirit in the inner man; That he would grant you, according to the riches of his glory, to be strengthened with might by his Spirit in the inner man; May be able to comprehend with all saints what is the breadth, and length, and depth, and height; And to know the love of Christ, which passeth knowledge, that ye might be filled with all the fullness of God.” (Eph 3:15-19)

I am not a great dancer, but that really doesn’t matter because He leads so well. Some quotes regarding the art of dancing: “For the lead and follow to interact with each other, communication needs to occur between the dance couple.” “To listen is the way to lead her effectively in paired dances.” In our dance God and I communicate, sometimes with words, most often without. Have it ever occurred to you that God listens to you so that He can lead you most effectively? I must admit that this idea is new to me, but when I read that quote everything in me shouted “Yes”! What a grand thought! The Creator of the universe in His humility and love bows down and lends you His ear so that He graciously can lead in such a way that your beauty and unique talents are best displayed! He respects your wishes so that everything about your performance speaks to your benefit. While you move as one across the dance floor He flatters and encourages you making you feel like His special selected one.

This entry was posted in Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Eternal Dance

  1. very nice, Ole……Blessings to you and your family, Susan Avello

  2. Sybrand Smit says:

    as quoted on my facebook today:
    When I meditated on the word Guidance, I kept seeing “dance” at the end of the word.
    I remember reading that doing God’s will is a lot like dancing.
    When two people try to lead, nothing feels right.
    The movement doesn’t flow with the music, and everything is quite uncomfortable and jerky.
    When one person realizes that, and lets the other lead, both bodies begin to flow with the music.
    One gives gentle cues, perhaps with a nudge to the back or by pressing lightly in one direction or another.
    It’s as if two become one body, moving beautifully.
    The dance takes surrender, willingness and attentiveness from one person and gentle guidance and skill from the other.
    My eyes drew back to the word Guidance.
    When I saw “G”: I thought of God, followed by “U” and “I”.
    “God, “U” and “I” dance.”
    As I lowered my head, I became willing to trust that I would get guidance about my life…
    Once again, I became willing to let God lead…

    Guidance = G…U…I…Dance = God U and I dancing together

Leave a Reply

