What to do When God is Silent

A friend asked me the following question:

What do you do when you are in a situation and you’re trying to figure out what to do but God is silent?

This is my reply:

So, God is now leading to higher level of insight and maturity. That is just wonderful. You are now about to discover that He is a far better leader than you are a follower. Secondly, you are now to learn to trust your own desires and wants as His desires and wants by simply trusting yourself. Thirdly, whatever you do you cannot step wrong. God is in the now. He is in control in every now of your life. There are no “what ifs” or “if onlys” in Him.

This entry was posted in Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to What to do When God is Silent

  1. Cheryl Lowry says:

    Thank You so much for this word today! For a while I have had an issue with my Son and I totally didn’t know what I should do…but when I read you note it POPPED…I can trust myself…thank you so so much..I have really rolled around with this but through God’s silence he allowed me to hear through you my correct answer. You mean so much to so many and I’m thankful one of them is me.

  2. Patty Musick says:

    Love, love, love this!! “There are no ‘what ifs’ or ‘if onlys’ in Him.” Oh, Ole, what wonderful glorious news to hear and hear and hear. My ears never grow tired!

  3. Dave Aldrich says:

    Hi Ole,

    I found you from a link on the Christ As Us site. I’ve been getting their “Daily Thought” for some time.

    It seems that God has been silent for a long while with me, but I keep telling myself that it must be me that is just too noisy. It could be that, but I want to believe that He is taking me to a new place of trust, a new place of wonder. I sense that may be the case, but I do not trust myself or my own instincts. They have always seemed (and I say seemed because I also realize how full of assumptions and illusions I am) to fail me. Yet I always encourage my brothers and sister to listen to His voice in them. See, I trust Him with others more than myself!

    My latest struggle with the Lord is with my questioning if He is leading me at all. I mean, what does that really mean anyway? It seems that He leaves me with way too many choices for me to make! Freedom must be a double-edged sword… we want it, even demand it, and we receive it, but Lord, please tell me what to do, where to go, how to decide!

    I don’t sense that I am lukewarm for Him, just perplexed deeply. And I trust I’m not alone in that! I am passionate for Him and His presence. It’s the quiet that’s driving me crazy.

    Keep sharing the words of His life and grace.

    Thanks.

    Dave

    • Ole Henrik says:

      Hi Dave! Thanks for your fabulous comment. It is so wonderful to meet people who dare to be transparent. And I am sure of one thing: You are not lukewarm. You are burning with His fire and what an impression that makes on people, in the same manner as your comment made a huge impression on me. I know well what you are talking about. I won’t give you any answers. I just want to bless you and thank you for your honesty and love.

  4. Dave Aldrich says:

    Thank you, Ole. Sometimes I surprise myself with my transparency. Sometimes I regret “letting my guard down,” but you understand how it is when you feel that you must write out, or shout out, what is on your heart.

    His blessings to you, brother.

    Dave

  5. Vijayan says:

    Hi Ole

    Searching your site brought me here. I hear what you are saying

    “You are now to learn to trust your own desires and wants as His desires and wants by simply trusting yourself.”

    I also read Norman Grubb’s YES I AM where he also mentions something similar.

    My issue is:-

    “How should one respond if one is walking in the light the Lord has given him and to the best of his abilility, he had trusted desire but things didn’t turn out according to what he had expected?”

    Vijay, Malaysia

    • Ole Henrik says:

      Hi Vijayan! Great to meet you here. DeeDee speaks very highly of you and as I understand you are quite a force in your home country. As to your question I do not have much light on that one. I know what you are talking about on account of that this is something I more than once have experienced myself. I wonder if it can have something to do with Hebr 4:12: “For the word of God is alive and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.” I wish I could give you a more concise answer. Blessings.

Leave a Reply

