The Camel and the Eye of the Needle

I was reminiscing about my life the other day. What stood out at this particular occasion was all the pain I have had to endure and have gone through. It struck me that I have been slowly and deliberately crushed. Somehow I was reminded of Job’s fortune. How he as a perfectly righteous man saw the greater picture through what he suffered.

I was like a camel which couldn’t go through the eye of the needle. I believed I was rich. I was too full of myself to pass through. God’s intention was obviously to squeeze me through that tiny gap. In order to accomplish His goal this camel had to be diminished until there was nothing left. Then I quite easily passed through the eye of the needle.

It is in God we live, move and have our being so in reality I was on the inside with everything I am from the outset. However, my consciousness was on the outside gauging and assessing everything from that viewpoint. I saw God and life as a set of properties. God was full of love, mercy and unfortunately angry if I messed up. Life was defined by other properties, for instance sin, obedience, disobedience and how to become holy. That was all I could see from the outside. Those lists of properties are of course almost inexhaustible if we prefer to walk down that road.

On the inside, however, I am not anymore so preoccupied with properties. I am in the middle of a river which simply runs. I am a part of the working God, as Fynn in his book “Mister God, This is Anna” so wonderfully expresses. As a part of the functioning God I am in the midst of the whirlwind we call life. God doesn’t gauge and assess life. He just lives it. That’s all.

This entry was posted in Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The Camel and the Eye of the Needle

  1. cindi estep says:

    With men this is impossible; but with God all things are possible…..I’ve come through that eye, too….Most of us have. Now in the midst of that River we can just go with the flow…Thanks Ole!!!

  2. Ole Henrik says:

    Yeah, isn’t that something?

  3. Fred Pruitt says:

    Isn’t it wonderful to be able to testify only of “what we have seen and heard,” rather than pitching a set of “beliefs” that do not work for us nor for anyone else? You are a rare bird, my friend. The Lord has opened to you His mysteries, knowing that you would not keep them as prizes for yourself, but as gifts to be given in freedom and love. What love, what flow, what a current, what a torrent is the Living God, and He exemplifies that in you. Thank you again for blessing me richly with words which are “spirit and life.”

  4. Mike says:

    Fred speaks my mind better than I can.

    Thank you for sharing Life

  5. Sam says:

    This is the Lord’s doing and it is marvelous in our eyes

  6. John Craig says:

    What tremendous and beautiful insight, thank you Ole.

  7. Patty Musick says:

    What a beautiful picture of what happens to each of us. The word picture of the camel (two humps) and the needle and being in the middle of a flowing river are so beautiful. Sometimes I may not feel like I’m in that river but the truth is I am. The scenery may change but the river is always constant and I am a part of it. Thank you Ole. You are a wonderful picture of God.

  8. Ole Henrik says:

    So are you, Patty! Thanks for your very beautiful comment!

  9. Judy Lawrence says:

    Ole, it has been a time of reflection for me as well, I’m going through a divorce and of course mulling things over, and I must say, if I didn’t know Christ as my life at this point I would have been done for. The words that I have gotten from you Fred and some of the others on FB have been great encouragement, seeds planted that will grow a great harvest. The wonderful Body of Christ at work. Love it,
    thank you so much.

  10. Ole Henrik says:

    Judy, I am so sorry to hear about your situation, and thank you for being so transparent and sharing from your life. There was a time in my life if it hadn’t been for God I would have been in great trouble. Knowing Him makes all the difference. I am very glad that Fred, I and many others have encouraged you. You are a blessing to many, Judy. Your encouragements and love is the fragrant of Christ and life. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

