Naming the Animals and All Creation

The letter kills but the Spirit gives life, Paul wrote. The scripture is filled with words. Each word uniquely composed of letters and words arranged in such a way that we glean some meaning from the text we study. When we read the words we merely see a framework of something. The words aren’t the thing itself. They render us with a sensation of being on the outside peeking in. Words are simply a framework we attempt to climb. But, the framework isn’t meant for climbing, so we repeatedly fall down.

When we have hit the ground a sufficient number of times we begin to wonder whether perhaps there is something beyond, or within the framework, in other words; that we aren’t to climb to the top. On the inside Jesus is calling out: “Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and eat with him, and he with me.” We begin to hear His voice, at first dimly but it becomes more and more exigent, and we sense that we are about to cross a threshold where no climbing is necessary.

One day the Spirit pushes us through and we are suddenly faced with another reality. We even find that Jesus wasn’t on the inside. He was on the outside. When we opened the door and let Him in the words we before perceived as outside us, are now us. They are an integral part of our being. We are the words. They are letters written on hearts of flesh. Before we let Him in the words pulled and pushed us. They tried to control and dictate our lives. Many a time when we failed to follow their commands we had that metallic taste of loss in our mouth, and it tasted like death.

Enchanted by the words, since we believed they were the final thing, we even exerted their powers on others. We tried to control our world with words. The letters didn’t just kill us, we used them to kill others as well. They are a lethal weapon in the wrong hands. In the right hands those letters kill that ingrained resolution which states that we can do it. The Spirit sometimes uses letters to purify, to turn metal into gold, to renew minds.

As Christ is formed in us we behold with increasingly clarity that we are the words. We are above and beyond the written words in a realm so utterly beautiful that words fail to describe it. The written words were just the door in. We are now the master of the words and they have to obey our commands, that is, they are expressed in a spontaneous living that is not defined by words because life is expressed by the Spirit within who is restrained by nothing except love.

Everything is reversed compared to Adam. Initially he defined the words when he named all the animals and all living creatures. Figuratively speaking we appreciate that he was the words, he lived the words, he gave them meaning beyond themselves. After the fall he was separated from the word, and the words defined his life and him. That is our starting point; always defined by words. Then we cross the river and we give the words meaning and definition by our being since they are us.

This entry was posted in Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Naming the Animals and All Creation

  1. Ole Henrik says:

    This one came perhaps out a bit mysterious. But, why not.

  2. cindi estep says:

    I Love these “words”that by revelation you have complied and presented to us….A gifted manuscript. I read it a couple of times and each time it became even more Illuminating to me…..The thought came to me about my post to you this morning that the Word has Become flesh and we are that flesh…And we are the Word.
    Lovely Ole Henrik

  3. Ole Henrik says:

    Glad you liked it, Cindi! Thanks for your nice words. I wrote it quite early today, so when I saw what you had posted on my wall I took that as a confirmation.

  4. Kristin Smith says:

    2 Corinthians 3: 4-6
    Such confidence as this is ours through Christ before God. 5Not that we are competent in ourselves to claim anything for ourselves, but our competence comes from God. 6He has made us competent as ministers of a new covenant—not of the letter but of the Spirit; for the letter kills, but the Spirit gives life.
    2 Corinthians 3: 17& 18
    Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom. 18And we, who with unveiled faces all reflect the Lord’s glory, are being transformed into his likeness with ever-increasing glory, which comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit.
    Unveiled faces-Moses saw the glory fading away. We need not fear the glory fading away as it is not us that produces the fruit or the glory. The work of the spirit is glorious and it is in us and we need not fear that we have to perpetuate the glory. That is the Spirit’s work and we get to behold that work in us.

    Thanks for sharing what the Lord shows you. There are still some phrases in this one that my mind can’t comprehend yet. I am a bit slow thinking wise these days so I have to reread to get everything that you were trying to communicate. But I do get that it is the Spirit in me being glory not my outward adherence or outward manipulation that brings the changes that will baffle the world.
    Bless you Ole.

    • Patty Musick says:

      This struck me…we are ministers not of the letter but of the Spirit. The letter kills but the Spirit gives life. For so long I tried to be the minister of the letter. Those days can be over now. That is a burden removed!

      • Kristin Smith says:

        Yes, it is a burden removed. That is a relief. Ministers of a living being…carriers of grace….of life…

  5. Ole Henrik says:

    Thank you, Kristin! This post is very abstract. I am trying to convey with words something I saw with my inner eye. I am not sure if I understand the depths of this either. So I guess I am a bit slow thinking wise these days too 😉

    • Kristin Smith says:

      The first time I read it, I was not sure God was going to do anything with it for me. Went in my eyes but, well, that was about it. But I reread it and was rather surprised that it made sense. It makes more sense each time I read it. And, I think maybe more importantly, it has caused me to think. I realized as a by product of reading this one that: I often don’t read the Bible because I feel bad that I don’t “get” anything. What God showed me is that the word is His. It is about Him, it is what He wanted me to know about Him. And so I can read, not to squeeze understanding from the letters but to listen and see what God wants me to see about Him. If I don’t “get” anything from a particular reading session, I need not be ashamed. It is His and He is the only one who can open my eyes to what it means. That understanding was very freeing. It is not my job to get anything. I am just to read and let Him open it up.

      • Patty Musick says:

        That is so true Kristin and something I tend to forget…it is all up to Him. I just can’t hear that enough!

      • Kristin Smith says:

        I can’t hear it enough either. But I am thinking that is God’s intent in the first place that we should here it is not of us.

  6. Ole Henrik says:

    Kristin; this last comment of yours moistened my eyes!

Leave a Reply

