The Inner Garden

One evening not long ago the Spirit suddenly said to me with a smile: “Adam was placed in the garden.” He didn’t have to say more. My curiosity was aroused, which He of course was well aware of. Day after day I pondered what He meant by those six each by them self rather innocent words. In human terms I might occasionally come out as quite clever. However, when it comes to spiritual things I am more or less brain-dead. So I simply couldn’t fathom what He meant. When I came to the end of my own reasoning I began to ask if He could be so courteous to reveal His little secret to me. I thought it fair that if He had said A He also should say B. Despite several requests He remained quiet. However, He has taught me over the years to be patient knowing that He will answer in His time, which I of course counted on in this case as well.

Today I asked again wondering if He was ready to share His wisdom with me. It is perhaps more precise to assume that He lingered until I was ready. This is what He said: “Now the garden is placed in you.” Interesting, don’t you think? The first Adam was placed in the garden. That is an outer thing in the same manner as the law is an outer thing. Well, if the garden is in me, everything is now internalized. I am in other words a law in myself. Spontaneously and effortlessly I now meet the standards of the law since they are an integral part of my new nature. If I am not mistaken He also added: “In the outer garden there were two trees. In the inner garden there is only one tree; the tree of life.” Since there is only one tree, a type of Christ, I cannot go wrong. It is utterly impossible for me to repeat Adam’s mistake. I think we can safely and without being in the risk of exaggerating call this eternal security.

This entry was posted in Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Inner Garden

  1. Sparrow says:

    Wow! That is beautiful! There’s a garden of overflowing life in me, the tree of life, the river of living water, the Sun of righteousness, that’s wonderful and you’re right, how can we go wrong with heaven Himself within us? With only the One Tree present, and the other tree not even there…wow!

    Thank you for sharing..
    In Him,
    Sparrow

    • Cheryl Lowry says:

      So glad you waited…glad you ask again…glad you shared. His kingdom is truely a Garden within…loved it and you.

  2. Sparrow says:

    It seems to go along with the idea in Isaiah 58, I believe it is, that “You shall be like a watered garden, And like a spring of water, whose waters do not fail. “

  3. Ole Henrik says:

    That is just a wonderful confirmation! Thanks for sharing!

  4. Julie Rima says:

    Amen!

  5. Patty Musick says:

    Wow, Ole! What a wonderful truth and what a unique and lovely way the Lord shared it with you and now with me! I was just a moment ago sitting outside in the morning coolness with my dogs and hearing the birds and feeling the beauty of the morning and I realized the beauty wasn’t outside of me but more inside of me. And that’s why I could enjoy the outer beauty. And then I read what you said about the inner garden and it all ties in. I love it! The concept of the inner garden will be something that will remain with me because I love gardens and the whole thing is simply beautiful and indeed true and wonderful!

  6. George Allen says:

    “In the beginning…” God was the Garden. Today God is still the Garden. The Garden has not changed, cannot change, never will change, only our “In the beginning” changes.

    In the beginning we were just in His garden or just “in Him”, which was a wonderful place to be for it was where He wanted us, just us. But when we invited another into that garden – our ‘self for self’ via satan – God, in His unmatched wisdom and plan, had to drive us out from Himself. He placed a guard at the entrance to that garden and now, the only way man can enter that garden again is by death.. death to self for self. We willingly see and know that our self will fall by the sword of Love but as Crosby, Stills & Nash sang “… we got to get ourselves back to the garden…” , so we, with the person of Grace walking with us, go headlong into the path of that ever swinging sword and we die, only to find ourselves living again ‘ back in the garden’. This is our “In the beginning”. Everyone starts at Genesis… not the book, but at our own genesis of first leaving the garden then re-entering it again with ‘Revelation’ … we have our own Alpha and Omega experience with Him.

    The entrance to the garden – BUT NOT THE GARDEN – has changed from the original; now the entrance is within us and God enters into us even as we enter into Him – we are One’d with Him, evermore in the Garden, evermore the Garden within us.

    CS&N had it more right than we might have guessed of a 60’s rock & roll band when they sang ” going to…get back to the land to set my soul free “. The Land Before Time… the Garden… God.

  7. Lynn Youngblood says:

    Thanks, Ole. This is good as always. It’s so good to know it’s all done and there for us to enjoy. I need to keep this concept in front of me. It’s so easy to get away from eating of the tree of Life. I need to remain focused there. Christ is Love and Life – what else do we need? Keep the articles coming!

  8. Sparrow says:

    Ole, I quoted a bit of your post on my blog and shared my thoughts about the wonderful ideas God gave you. I also put a link to your blog in my post. I hope that was okay with you! Thanks so much for sharing your words with us!

    Sparrow

    • Ole Henrik says:

      I appreciate your generosity, dear Sparrow! Please feel free to share anything I post in whatever way you want. What is the address to your blog?

  9. Sparrow says:

    Ole,

    My blog address is http://underthewaterfallofgrace.blogspot.com/. I think if you click on my underlined name in the comments here on your blog, it will take you to my blog. I’m not very computer-savvy, but I think that’s right.

    May you have a grace-fulll day in Him,
    Sparrow

Leave a Reply

