It Is Finished

Jesus cried out: ”It is finished”, but in God’s mind it had been finished from before the fundation of the world when the lamb was slain. In our linear perception of time it was finished two thousand years ago. From God’s perspective it is and has been forever eternally finished. He has never doubted the outcome, He has never been caught off guard by the enemy’s strategies. The Lord has watched over our coming and going both now and forevermore.

Every now, every moment of our lives it is finished. There is nothing we can add or deduct. Despite this glorious fact many a sincere believer is deceived into thinking that there is something lacking in his salvation, that his sanctification is deficient. There are legions of “shoulds”, “ought tos” and “must nots” that cause him to howl inwardly with pain. His seemingly failures throw him to the ground again and again and there is nothing he can do about it.

Utterly helpless he walks among the tombs not recognizing they represent everything He has died from. Desperately he shackles himself hoping he can control his cravings and coveting. It is only Jesus’ “it is finished” that reverberates trough the universe that can set him truly free and make him proclaim through the whole city how much God has done for him.

This entry was posted in Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to It Is Finished

  1. Fred Pruitt says:

    EXACTLY as I see it, too, my friend! This is it!!!! It is finished — AND always has been. I like to say Jesus of Nazareth brought down into the particularity of his (and eventually our) temporal space-time realm, what always has been in the eternal. “Lamb slain from the foundation of the earth!” Amen and amen. Thanks again for posting this!

  2. Ole Henrik says:

    Thanks for confirming what I thought I heard from the Spirit! Wonderful!

  3. Patty Musick says:

    This is truly wonderful and a joy to hear!!!!!

  4. Kristin Smith says:

    In the last two months, God has been “talking” to me through this phrase. I read it in the Bible one morning and God highlighted it for me in the circumstances of my days following having read it. Even though God has been revealing grace to me more and more the last 20 years there is a lot of garbage in my subconscious belief system to undo. I find that in certain situations I just feel uncomfortable. I feel something unsettling. I see now these feelings are feelings of falling short or feelings that I must do something to earn another person’s acceptance or that I did not measure up. I don’t ask for these feelings. They just show up. Even though I know this is no longer true the feelings surface just the same. God has been gracious in showing me when these show up that the feelings are not me and that because of Christ…my “working” or need to work is finished. Jesus words come to mind in daily situations to remind me that nothing I do or don’t do, nothing that is left undone separates me from Him in me. This is faith and this I can rely on. This is hope. It is such a relief to have truth to counter the old false beliefs that surface as I go through each day. It is encouraging to have what He is teaching me confirmed by others.

    • Ole Henrik says:

      Thanks for sharing this awesome and wonderful testimony here! God is doing a huge job in each and everyone of us so that we can become more and more fixed in the truth. No separation, and nothing is left undone. Thanks for the reminder🙂

Leave a Reply

