David and Saul

An interesting episode in the scripture with great significance for us is that David was elected king while Saul still was the anointed king of Israel. During a period of several years they were both kings over the Promised Land. Saul was big, handsome and strong. He exuded all the qualities a genuine king was supposed to have.

Saul’s reign was apparent to all of his people. David, however, was more or less unknown and invisible to most. He only gathered a handful of men who were loyal to him and who recognized him as the true king over the nation. When we now are to investigate which significance this has for our lives we will consider Saul as a type of our fleshy inclinations whilst David represents the union life.

From the moment we are born again we are kings and royal priest in the kingdom of God. In the beginning of our walk we are like Saul. We are the perfect image of self effort and fleshy patterns which we hope will make us presentable to God. Our good deeds are handsome in our eyes. We cherish our strengths and we ask God to bless our works.

Simultaneously there is a David within waiting for Saul to die, so that the one who is a man after God’s heart can step forward to occupy the throne. The man who lives after the flesh will finally come to the end of himself. His efforts have been utterly rejected by God. All he has left is his faith, and the faith person who has been there all the time, but has been more or less invisible because he has been repressed by the flesh, steps forth.

Saul, the religious archetype, trusted his own strength. David, on the other hand, put his trust in God alone. But even in our “Saul” period David is given the opportunity from time to time to take precedence, notably when Saul is facing a challenge to big for him. So David pokes his head forth and through faith kills the Goliaths which threatens to overthrow Saul. However, Saul isn’t convinced that this weakling which he to a certain degree despises will secure his reign. He thus continues his life ignoring the power of the faith seed which is disseminated and which at last will conquer and overshadow the flesh.

Norman Grubb denotes this revelation when we discover that we are  in a union with Christ the second crisis. We go from this false idea of separation, that is, God here and me there to a secure position of knowing that we know that we are joined one spirit with Him. This insight or revelation turns everything we formerly believed more or less upside down. The scriptures are opened to us in new ways. We begin to see and understand things which have been hidden from us because of our Saul life.

The good news is that there exist a David in every believer who is groaning in anticipation to be liberated and step up as a secure and safe son of His father. He has been a secure and beloved son from the beginning, but He hasn’t recognized it before now. Glorious and joyful is every son who knows who he is in Christ.

To be in the flesh denotes the erroneous idea that we live apart from Christ. This understanding leads to self-effort and a thinking which is sin conscious in its outlook. It is also apt to downgrade our soul and our soul reactions. We can also attribute to the flesh the idea that some soul reactions are more noble than others, which means a division in good and evil. Our soul is “fearfully and wonderfully made.” In Christ it again has found its perfection, its original design.

Fleshy thinking patterns will obstruct the believer from accepting himself as God has accepted him and impede the believer’s ability to recognize who he is in Christ. We now clearly recognize that the flesh represents a false idea of separation. This unsound idea of independence  leads to “shoulds” and “ought tos”. The flesh thus perpetuates condemnation and suffocates faith.

Saul, “who was little in his own eyes”, is a typical representative of those fleshy thinking patterns which results in a desire to prove oneself, whilst David, “a man after God’s heart, represents faith and its restful position in Christ.

This is part three in a series of three parts

(The last three paragraphs are a consequence of DeeDee’s wonderful comment)

This entry was posted in Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to David and Saul

  1. DeeDee Winter says:

    Ole,

    Great article! It would be good for the reader to know that your use of the word flesh in this writing means SELF EFFORT…’trying to’…thinking that it has life in itsself apart from Christ – independence. Christians have for so long been told that their flesh is evil. The truth is that our flesh is “fearfully and wonderfully made” and the individual pot that the Holy Spirit uses for Christ to be seen! Jesus Christ came in the flesh! Our flesh in union with Him is wonderful!

  2. Moriah says:

    You’ve done a fabulous job outlining the issue and pointing out the problem. I can’t wait to see your treatment of how, or what to do, to forward the Christ life inside us (David’s reign) and end the separation-sense, sin-consciousness, fleshly thought patterns and other hindrances to that (Saul’s reign).

    I find there is a lot of revelation making the rounds about the WHAT of what’s missing, what’s wrong, what’s going on that should not be, but very little follow-up with distinct, real, relevant, tangible, accessible HOW to do something about that. I’m praying the clear voice of the Christ in you will break this mold for the sake of those of us who crave more of His life manifest in ours, who recognize we are not yet in the fullness of that which we so desire, and who want something to do with our time while we are waiting to get there beyond the usual “well just chill, He’ll get you there when He gets you there.” ^_^

    • Ole Henrik says:

      Hi Moriah!

      I write what is given to me at any moment, and I wish I could be more concrete in many of my writings. However, I believe you already are where you want to be. The Spirit has opened your eyes to the precious truths I am given to pen down. He has led you to this point and you have accepted it by faith. I still live my usual life. I can’t say anything exceptional has happened in life outwardly speaking. I am still Ole Henrik with everything that entails. What is new, though, is that I have entered a new understanding of who I am, and so have you. And I am confident that you experience His love spontaneously welling up inside you just as I do. I think many of us have such great expectations to ourself and our new life that we like Eve are a little disappointed, like, is this all? In many ways this is all, but at the same time it is everything, because we have found our life again and we live.

  3. Moriah says:

    I do indeed experience His love springing up inside me!! And I’m not disappointed at all, I just don’t like my flesh getting in the way. ^_^ Blessings to you Brother.

  4. Trebor says:

    I suppose there is a positive side to flesh and a negative. The positive: the percentage of my thinking (on God’s word) that depends on Him to back it up. The negative: the old thinking and doing of things without relying on God. But just how much are we to micro-manage our thinking? …and who is serious enough to do it?

    • Ole Henrik says:

      I think this is the great thing about the new life: We do not longer have to micro-manage our thoughts, but just be. I remember the first period of my Christian walk when I was immensely sin-conscious and everyday scrutinized my motives, thoughts, works, everything and how devastating that was. If I through my writings give the impression that people have to micro-manage their thoughts I am truly sorry, because that is not my intention.

  5. Trebor says:

    Hello Henrik, my comment wasn’t meant to point at you… rather myself. I know we all have a body of flesh but I think we also have a mind filled with things that do not point us in the direction of God. That mind might also be called the flesh. So to make it easy for my understanding, I say there are two things that could be given the title flesh: 1. We are housed in a body of flesh and 2: We have information in our heads that is contrary to relying on God. Changing the body, which I certainly need to; is OK🙂 changing the information in my head is the thing that really matters.

  6. Ole Henrik says:

    Well put, Trebor! I couldn’t agree more! The Spirit is doing a huge job reprogramming our minds🙂

  7. Trebor says:

    I think it was Moriah (above) who sparked my interest about this subject of flesh and how we get in more tune with the Spirit than tripped up by the flesh in our minds. I suppose I felt like commenting on here because at Church there is rarely anyone or any outlet for such discussions. Yet we all think about them from time to time. I wish the preaching today would speak more directly to subjects like these than give me just a bunch of fodder for trivia pursuit.

Leave a Reply

